The Ethics Commissioner

The Role of the Ethics Commissioner

The Ethics Commissioner is responsible for the administration of the Code of ethics and conduct of the Members of the National Assembly (PDF, 1 MB). For this purpose, he or she exercises the duties of office and any other function assigned by law to the Ethics Commissioner.

For example, the Ethics Commissioner publishes a yearly summary of the statements regarding private interests that Members are required to file with the Commissioner disclosing their private interests as well as those of their family members. The Commissioner provides advisory opinions to Members on questions concerning their obligations under the Code, particularly in relation to:

  • incompatible offices or posts;
  • conflicts of interest;
  • gifts and benefits.

The Ethics Commissioner may publish guidelines for Members regarding the application of the Code, and organize activities to inform Members and the general public about the Commissioner's role and the application of the Code.

The Ethics Commissioner may, on his or her own initiative or at the request of a Member, conduct an inquiry or verification to determine if a deputy or minister may have violated any the Code. The Ethics Commissioner submits the results to the president of the National Assembly.

Within the first three years following the coming into force of the Code, and every five years after that, the Ethics Commissioner must submit a report to the president of the National Assembly on the carrying out of the Code and on the advisability of amending it. The report is referred to the competent parliamentary committee for examination.

The Ethics Commissioner's term of office is five years and may be renewed.

 

  • Date of last modification : February 28, 2011

Appel d'intérêt

La mission du Commissaire à l'éthique et à la déontologie

Le Commissaire à l'éthique et à la déontologie est responsable de l'application du Code d'éthique et de déontologie des membres de l'Assemblée nationale du Québec (PDF, 1 Mo). À cette fin, il exerce les fonctions qui lui sont confiées par le Code ou, le cas échéant, par une autre loi.

Par exemple, le Commissaire publie des sommaires des déclarations d'intérêts personnels des élus et des membres de leur famille immédiate, qui doivent être déposées auprès de lui annuellement. Il donne aux députés des avis, assortis des recommandations qu'il juge indiquées, sur toute question concernant leurs obligations aux termes du Code, notamment :

  • les incompatibilités de fonctions
  • les conflits d'intérêts
  • les dons et les avantages.

Le Commissaire peut publier des lignes directrices pour guider les députés dans l'application du Code. Il organise des activités afin de renseigner les députés et le public sur son rôle ainsi que sur l'application du Code.

De sa propre initiative ou à la demande d'un député, il fait des vérifications ou des enquêtes pour déterminer si des manquements au Code ont été commis par un député ou un membre du Conseil exécutif. Il remet son rapport d'enquête au président de l'Assemblée nationale.

Trois ans après l'entrée en vigueur du Code, et par la suite tous les cinq ans, le Commissaire doit faire un rapport, qu'il remet au président de l'Assemblée nationale, sur la mise en oeuvre du Code et sur l'opportunité de le modifier. Ce rapport est étudié par la commission parlementaire compétente.

Le mandat du commissaire est d'une durée de 5 ans avec possibilité de renouvellement.

 

  • Date de la dernière modification : 28 février 2011