Political Staff

Political staff members are subject to the Rules of conduct applicable to the staff of Members and House Officers of the National Assembly (Rules) and the Regulation respecting the rules of conduct applicable to the office staff of Ministers (Regulation).

The Rules apply to office staff of MNAs and House Officers of the National Assembly, including staff hired to assist a political party or an independent member for research and support purposes.  As for Regulation, they set out rules aimed at the executive secretary and other office staff appointed by a minister, including electoral division staff and regional staff.

This section presents the main provisions of both the Rules and the Regulation concerning the values and ethical principles to which the staff members must adhere and their ethical obligations. It also includes the texts published by the Ethics Commissioner related to these texts.

X

Personnel politique

Les membres du personnel politique doivent respecter les obligations déontologiques contenues dans les Règles déontologiques applicables aux membres du personnel des députés et des cabinets de l’Assemblée nationale et le Règlement concernant les règles déontologiques applicables aux membres du personnel d’un cabinet ministériel.

Les Règles s’appliquent aux membres du personnel d’un député ou d’un cabinet de l’Assemblée nationale, incluant les membres du personnel engagés pour assister un parti politique ou un député indépendant à des fins de recherche et de soutien. Quant au Règlement, il vise le directeur et les autres membres du personnel d’un cabinet incluant le personnel de circonscription et le personnel régional, le cas échéant, nommés par le ministre dont ils relèvent.

Cette section détaille les principales dispositions prévues aux Règles et au Règlement en ce qui concerne, d'une part, les valeurs et principes éthiques auxquels doivent adhérer les membres du personnel politique et, d'autre part, leurs obligations déontologiques. Elle contient aussi la documentation produite par le Commissaire en lien avec les Règles et le Règlement.

X