About

The Code of ethics and conduct of the Members of the National Assembly (chapter C-23.1) was adopted unanimously in December 2010.
 
The Code first affirms the important role Members play and recognizes the expectations of the people of Québec with regard to their Members of the National Assembly (MNAs). It also states the key values of the National Assembly, to which the Members must adhere. It states the rules of ethics and conduct to be observed by Members and Cabinet Ministers (Conseil exécutif) and defines how these rules will be monitored and enforced. It establishes that the Ethics Commissioner is responsible for the administration of the Code.

In 2013, two sets of rules applicable to political staff came into force: the Rules of conduct applicable to the staff of Members and House officers of the National Assembly (Rules) and the Regulation respecting the rules of conduct applicable to the office staff of Ministers (Regulation). The implementation of such rules was planned in the bill enacting the Code. The provisions of these two texts are substantially similar. They reflect the values stated in the Code, as well as some of its rules of conduct.

The Ethics Commissioner is responsible for enforcing the legal provisions and regulations provided for in these texts.

The Ethics Commissioner

Current commissioner

Ariane Mignolet, Commissaire à l'éthique et à la déontologie

On May 18, 2017, the Québec National Assembly appointed lawyer Ariane Mignolet as Ethics Commissioner. Her five-year term began on May 29, 2017. She is the second person to hold this position since the adoption of the Code of ethics and conduct of the Members of the National Assembly in 2010.

For nearly 17 years, Ms. Mignolet held a number of positions in the National Assembly, during which she developed thorough knowledge of the issues related to the parliamentary procedure. Between 2000 and 2007, she successively held the positions of Clerk of the Committee on Public Finance and Parliamentary Procedure Adviser. She was then appointed Director of the Assembly Secretariat. In 2009, she became Director of Parliamentary Procedure and then headed the new Parliamentary Affairs Directorate created in 2010.

When she was appointed Ethics Commissioner, Ms. Mignolet had been Director General of Legal and Parliamentary Affairs of the National Assembly since 2011. As such, she acted as a legal adviser to the Secretary General and administrative units in all areas of law related to the National Assembly and its Members’ activities. She also organized the activities for all the directorates of the parliamentary sector and acted as table officer when it convened.

Throughout her career at the National Assembly, Ms. Mignolet shared her expertise both with Québec and countries abroad. She has trained high-ranking government officials and representatives as part of activities sponsored by the École nationale d’administration publique and the Secrétariat aux emplois supérieurs, among others. She also participated in numerous missions abroad, especially as part of activities of the Association des secrétaires généraux des parlements de la Francophonie.

Ms. Mignolet is a law graduate from the Université de Montréal and has been a member of the Barreau du Québec since 1998.

Appointment

To ensure the independence and impartiality of the person holding the position of Commissioner, the appointment must be approved by two thirds of the Members of the National Assembly.  

In addition, the nomination must be jointly proposed by the Prime Minister and the leader of the official opposition, after consulting the leaders of the other authorized parties represented in the National Assembly.

The Commissioner is appointed for a five-year term, which can be renewed by the Members of the National Assembly.

Former commissioners

2011–2017
Jacques Saint-Laurent

Appointed unanimously by the National Assembly on December 9, 2010, lawyer Jacques Saint-Laurent was Ethics Commissioner from January 6, 2011, to May 28, 2017.

A graduate from the Université Laval, Mr.  Saint-Laurent began his career as a lawyer at the Rivard Hickson firm. In 1981, he was a lawyer for the legal services of the Commission de la santé et de la sécurité du travail (CSST), and in 1985, he became the first director of the CSST’s peer review board.

In 1987, Mr. Saint-Laurent continued his legal career with the Ministère de la Justice’s administrative law branch. From 1988 to 1993, he was the Director of Legal Affairs for the Ministère de la Sécurité publique and then held a similar position at the Ministère des Ressources naturelles from 1993 to 1995.

From 1995 to 2001, the Ministère de la Justice assigned Mr. Saint-Laurent to the Québec Courthouse as director of the legal department. He was then promoted to Assistant Deputy Minister and Directeur de l’état civil du Québec for the Ministère des Relations avec les citoyens et de l’Immigration.

He was unanimously appointed chair of the Commission d’accès à l’information by the National Assembly in 2004. Mr. Saint-Laurent was still in this position when he was appointed Ethics Commissioner.

The jurisconsult

The Act respecting the National Assembly established the office of jurisconsult, which is now provided for in the Code. The Code states that the jurisconsult must be appointed unanimously by the members of the Office of the National Assembly for a term of five years.

The jurisconsult is responsible for providing advisory opinions on ethics and professional conduct to any Member who requests it. The advisory opinions provided by the jurisconsult are confidential, unless the Member concerned consents to their disclosure.

The advisory opinions provided by the jurisconsult are not binding on the Ethics Commissioner. Further, the jurisconsult may not provide an advisory opinion to a Member who is under verification or inquiry until the verification or inquiry process is completed.

The current jurisconsult is lawyer Jean-Louis Baudouin, who was appointed to this position on December 3, 2015.

For more information on the jurisconsult’s role, see the section on this topic on the National Assembly’s website

X

À propos

Le Code d'éthique et de déontologie des membres de l'Assemblée nationale a été adopté à l'unanimité en décembre 2010. Le Code proclame d'abord l'importance du rôle du député et reconnaît les attentes de la population à son égard. Il énonce également les principales valeurs de l’Assemblée nationale, auxquelles les députés doivent adhérer. Ensuite, on y retrouve les règles déontologiques applicables aux députés et aux membres du Conseil exécutif (les ministres). Le Code détermine enfin les mécanismes d’application et de contrôle de ces règles et en confie la responsabilité au Commissaire à l’éthique et à la déontologie.

En 2013, deux ensembles de règles s’appliquant aux membres du personnel politique entrent en vigueur : les Règles déontologiques applicables aux membres du personnel des députés et des cabinets de l’Assemblée nationale (Règles) et le Règlement concernant les règles déontologiques applicables aux membres du personnel d’un cabinet ministériel (Règlement). La mise en place de telles règles était prévue dans le projet de loi édictant le Code. Les dispositions de ces deux textes sont fortement similaires. Ils reprennent les valeurs édictées par le Code de même que certaines des règles déontologiques qu’on y retrouve.

Le Commissaire à l’éthique et à la déontologie est l’institution responsable de veiller à l’application des dispositions législatives et réglementaires prévues à ces textes.

La commissaire

Commissaire actuelle

Ariane Mignolet, Commissaire à l'éthique et à la déontologie

Ariane Mignolet

Le 18 mai 2017, l'Assemblée nationale du Québec a nommé Me Ariane Mignolet commissaire à l'éthique et à la déontologie. Son mandat de cinq ans s'est amorcé le 29 mai 2017. Elle est la deuxième titulaire de cette fonction depuis l’adoption en 2010 du Code d’éthique et de déontologie des membres de l’Assemblée nationale.

Me Mignolet a évolué au sein de l’Assemblée nationale pendant près de 17 ans, développant une solide connaissance des enjeux liés à la procédure parlementaire. Entre 2000 et 2007, elle y occupe successivement les fonctions de secrétaire de la Commission des finances publiques, puis de conseillère en procédure parlementaire. Elle est ensuite nommée directrice du secrétariat de l’Assemblée. En 2009, elle devient directrice de la procédure parlementaire pour ensuite prendre la tête de la nouvelle Direction des affaires parlementaires créée en 2010.

Au moment de sa nomination, Me Mignolet occupait depuis 2011 la fonction de directrice générale des affaires juridiques et parlementaires à l’Assemblée nationale. Elle était responsable, à ce titre, de conseiller le secrétaire général et les unités administratives sur le plan juridique et dans tous les domaines du droit reliés aux activités de l’Assemblée nationale et de ses membres. Elle coordonnait en outre les activités de l’ensemble des directions du secteur parlementaire et agissait comme greffière lors des travaux parlementaires.

Tout au long de sa carrière à l’Assemblée nationale, Me Mignolet a partagé son expertise autant au Québec qu’à l’étranger. Elle a donné plusieurs formations à des cadres et des hauts fonctionnaires dans le cadre d’activités parrainées par l’École nationale d’administration publique et le Secrétariat aux emplois supérieurs, notamment. Elle a aussi participé à plusieurs missions à l’étranger, entre autres dans le cadre des activités de l'Association des secrétaires généraux des parlements de la Francophonie.

Me Mignolet est diplômée en droit de l’Université de Montréal et membre du Barreau du Québec depuis 1998.

Nomination

Pour assurer l’indépendance et l’impartialité de la personne titulaire de la fonction de commissaire, sa nomination doit être approuvée par les deux tiers des membres de l’Assemblée nationale.  

De plus, la candidature doit être proposée conjointement par le premier ministre et le chef de l’Opposition officielle, après consultation des chefs des autres partis autorisés représentés à l’Assemblée nationale.

Le commissaire est nommé pour une période de 5 ans. Son mandat peut être renouvelé par les membres de l'Assemblée nationale.

Anciens commissaires

2011-2017
Me Jacques Saint-Laurent   

Nommé à l’unanimité par l’Assemblée nationale le 9 décembre 2010, Me Jacques Saint-Laurent a occupé la fonction de commissaire à l’éthique et à la déontologie du 6 janvier 2011 au 28 mai 2017.

Diplômé en droit de l'Université Laval, Me Saint-Laurent commence sa carrière comme avocat au cabinet Rivard et Hickson. En 1981, il devient avocat au Service juridique de la Commission de la santé et de la sécurité du travail puis, en 1985, le premier directeur du Bureau de révision paritaire de cet organisme. 

En 1987, Me Saint-Laurent poursuit sa carrière au ministère de la Justice du Québec comme avocat à la Direction du droit administratif. De 1988 à 1993, il exerce les fonctions de directeur des affaires juridiques au ministère de la Sécurité publique. Il occupe un poste similaire au ministère des Ressources naturelles de 1993 à 1995. 

De 1995 à 2001, le ministère de la Justice affecte Me Saint-Laurent au Palais de justice de Québec, à titre de directeur du contentieux. Il accède ensuite au poste de sous-ministre adjoint et directeur de l'état civil du Québec au ministère des Relations avec les citoyens et de l'Immigration. 

L'Assemblée nationale le nomme, à l'unanimité, président de la Commission d'accès à l'information en 2004. Me Saint-Laurent remplissait cette fonction au moment de sa nomination comme Commissaire à l'éthique et à la déontologie. 

Jurisconsulte

Créée en vertu de la Loi surl'Assemblée nationale, la fonction de jurisconsulte est aujourd'hui prévue par le Code. Ce dernier prévoit que le jurisconsulte est nommé pour un mandat de 5 ans par le Bureau de l’Assemblée nationale, à l’unanimité de ses membres.

Le jurisconsulte a la responsabilité de fournir à tout député qui lui en fait la demande des avis en matière d’éthique et de déontologie. L’avis du jurisconsulte est confidentiel, sauf si le membre de l’Assemblée nationale permet sa divulgation.

L’avis du jurisconsulte ne lie pas le Commissaire à l’éthique et à la déontologie. Par ailleurs, le jurisconsulte ne peut donner un avis à un membre de l’Assemblée nationale qui fait l’objet d’une vérification ou d’une enquête jusqu’à ce que le processus sur celui-ci soit terminé.

Le jurisconsulte actuel est Me Jean-Louis Baudouin. Il a été nommé à cette fonction le 3 décembre 2015.

Pour en savoir plus sur la fonction de jurisconsulte, consultez la rubrique à ce sujet sur le site Web de l’Assemblée nationale.

X