Political Staff

Political staff members are subject to the Rules of conduct applicable to the staff of Members and House Officers of the National Assembly (Rules) and the Regulation respecting the rules of conduct applicable to the office staff of Ministers (Regulation).

The Rules apply to office staff of MNAs and House Officers of the National Assembly, including staff hired to assist a political party or an independent member for research and support purposes.  As for Regulation, they set out rules aimed at the executive secretary and other office staff appointed by a minister, including electoral division staff and regional staff.

This section presents the main provisions of both the Rules and the Regulation concerning the values and ethical principles to which the staff members must adhere and their ethical obligations. It also includes the texts published by the Ethics Commissioner related to these texts.

Rules of Conduct

Conflicts of interest

Basic principles

Members must not place themselves in a situation where their private interests may impair their independent judgment in carrying out the duties of office.   Members also must not act, make decisions or attempt to influence another person’s decisions so as to further their private interests, those of a family member or those of a non-dependent child. “Family member” includes the Member’s spouse and the Member’s and the spouse’s dependent children.

In addition, it is the essence of MNAs’ mandate, whether Members or Cabinet Ministers, to assist individuals and groups who request their help in their relations with the government. Inevitably, this function may further the interests of the individual requesting help, which is normal. However, the Code limits these interventions and states that Members cannot seek to “improperly” further another person’s private interests.

Lastly, in the context of parliamentary work, the Code enjoins Members to withdraw from a session of the National Assembly or its committees when they have a private financial interest, not shared by the other Members or the general public, in a matter being discussed. The Members in question must also publicly declare the general nature of the interest and withdraw from the meeting or sitting without participating in debate or voting on the matter.

Being party to a contract with the government

To avoid situations of conflict of interest, the Code provides a rigorous framework for situations where a Member would have contractual relations with the government.

The Code also prohibits Members from being party to a contract, directly or indirectly, with the government, a government department or a public body.

However, this prohibition contains different modalities. For example, a Member may:

  • have interests in an enterprise that is party to such a contract, subject to certain conditions;
  • receive a loan or any other benefit under any Act, regulation, or program; or
  • hold securities issued by the government or a public body on the same terms as are applicable to all.

Beyond this rule of general application, Cabinet Ministers must comply with additional requirements. First, they must dispose of their interests in public enterprises or place them in a blind trust. If Cabinet Ministers are authorized to hold interests in a private enterprise, whose securities are not traded on a market, they must ensure that this private enterprise abstains from becoming party to a contract with the government, a government department or a public body.

Identifying conflicts of interest

Members must be able to accurately anticipate the potential influence of a private interest to ensure that it does not impact their independent judgment.   It is crucial to identify real situations of conflict of interest, but also to pay attention to situations of apparent conflict of interest. Hence, Members must achieve the necessary distance to take into consideration the view a reasonably well-informed person might have in the circumstances.

Conflicts of interest can arise at any moment, whether caused by a change in the Member’s family situation or in the Member’s responsibilities within the party, for example. This is, in fact, one of the reasons why Members must submit a statement of their private interests and those of their family members every year. Among other things, these statements allow the Ethics Commissioner to identify any conflicts of interest that could arise and to ensure these situations are settled.

When analyzing their personal situation, Members are asked to consult with the Commissioner, who can provide the necessary advice and advisory opinions. Each situation must be analyzed based on its own facts.

Reference:
Sections 5 to 9 of the Rules of conduct applicable to the staff of Members and House officers of the National Assembly (PDF, 128 Ko)(french only)
Sections 6 to 10 of the Regulation respecting the rules of conduct applicable to the office staff of Ministers

Gifts and Benefits

It is possible that, in carrying out the duties of their position, staff members receive or are offered gifts or benefits. These gifts and benefits, which might be free tickets for charity events or other, can generally be accepted.

However, the Rules and the Regulation include two prohibitions:

  • A staff member must not solicit, elicit, accept or receive any benefit, whether for him or herself or for another person, in exchange for speaking or taking a certain position.
  • A staff member must refuse any gift, token of hospitality or other benefit that may impair his or her independent judgment in carrying out the duties of office, or that may compromise the staff member’s integrity or that of the MNA or office for which he or she works.

These prohibitions apply based on the facts concerning each specific situation and regardless of the source and value of the gift.

When analyzing a situation, a staff member must take into consideration the public’s perception to preserve the citizens’ confidence. The values prescribed by the Rules and the Regulation serve as guidance for this purpose.

The Commissioner has published guidelines (PDF, 285 Ko) to help staff members choose between accepting and refusing a gift. Staff members are encouraged to contact us if they have doubts about certain situations they are faced with.

Gift disclosure statements

The Rules and the Regulation state that gifts accepted by staff members worth over $200 must be disclosed in a statement filed with the Commissioner within 30 days following their receipt.

The statement includes the following information:

  • Description of the gift
  • Name of donor
  • Date and circumstances under which it was received

Staff members can fill out a disclosure statement in the Statement Zone.

Unlike statements of donations by MNAs, statements by staff members are not published on our website.

Reference: 
Sections 10 to 15 of the Rules of conduct applicable to the staff of Members and House officers of the National Assembly (PDF, 128 Ko) (French only)
Sections 11 to 16 of the Regulation respecting the rules of conduct applicable to the office staff of Ministers

Disclosure Statement

Rules related to disclosure statements only apply to executive secretaries of Ministers and House Officers. Every year, these must file with the Ethics Commissioner a statement disclosing their private interests and those of their family members. Family members include a staff member’s spouse and dependent children. Personal and financial information is disclosed confidentially to the Commissioner for the purpose of prevention and to provide advice.

Executive secretaries must disclose the following regarding their own situation and that of their immediate family members:

  • Interest held in any enterprise or organization
  • Nature of any professional, commercial or industrial activity
  • Any fact, situation or event that could place them in a conflict of interest situation or be reasonably perceived as doing so

Reference: 
Sections 17 to 20 of the Rules of conduct applicable to the staff of Members and House officers of the National Assembly (PDF, 128 Ko) (French only)
Sections 18 to 21 of the Regulation respecting the rules of conduct applicable to the office staff of Ministers

Post-Term Issues

The Rules and Regulation set limits on the professional activities staff members may undertake after leaving their position. The Ethics Commissioner has published guidelines (PDF, 91 Ko) (in French only) for the individuals subject to these rules.

Post-term rules apply only staff members of a Cabinet Minister and some of the staff members of MNAs and House Officers, namely:

  • staff members of the Government House Leader’s office
  • staff members of the Chief Government Whip’s office
  • staff members hired to assist the governmental party for research and support purposes
  • staff members of the MNA who is Chair of the Government Caucus.

In any case, post-term rules do not apply to support staff.

Rules applicable at all times

Some general rules apply and should guide staff members at all times after they leave their position.

Former staff members covered by post-term rules are prohibited from:

  • acting to obtain undue benefit from their prior position
  • disclosing confidential information or giving advice based on information not available to the public
  • acting in the name of or on behalf of another person in a proceeding, negotiation or other transaction in which he or she acted before leaving his or her position.

Rules applicable for one year after a staff member leaves his or her position

Some rules provided for in the Rules and Regulation are specifically intended for the year after a staff member leaves his or her position.

During this year, the individual in question cannot:

  • accept any appointment to a board of directors or as a member of any body, agency, enterprise or other entity that is not a government entity and with which they had official, direct and significant dealings in the year before leaving his or her position
  • intervene on behalf of anyone else with any department or other State entity with which they had official, direct and significant dealings in the year before leaving his or her position.

To see what constitutes a government entity, you can consult the first annex of the guidelines (PDF, 91 Ko) concerning post-term rules (in French only). 

Reference: 
Sections 21 à 25 of the Rules of conduct applicable to the staff of Members and House officers of the National Assembly (PDF, 128 Ko) (French only)
Sections 22 à 26 of the Regulation respecting the rules of conduct applicable to the office staff of Ministers

Use of State Properties and Services

The goods and services made available to staff members must be used for activities related to the duties of their position. Staff members thus are obliged to respect the intended use of government goods and services and, where applicable, to allow their usage in accordance with this intended use.

Reference: 
Section 16 of the Rules of conduct applicable to the staff of Members and House officers of the National Assembly (PDF, 128 Ko) (French only)
Section 17 of the Regulation respecting the rules of conduct applicable to the office staff of Ministers

X

Personnel politique

Les membres du personnel politique doivent respecter les obligations déontologiques contenues dans les Règles déontologiques applicables aux membres du personnel des députés et des cabinets de l’Assemblée nationale et le Règlement concernant les règles déontologiques applicables aux membres du personnel d’un cabinet ministériel.

Les Règles s’appliquent aux membres du personnel d’un député ou d’un cabinet de l’Assemblée nationale, incluant les membres du personnel engagés pour assister un parti politique ou un député indépendant à des fins de recherche et de soutien. Quant au Règlement, il vise le directeur et les autres membres du personnel d’un cabinet ministériel, incluant le personnel de circonscription et le personnel régional, le cas échéant, nommés par le ministre dont ils relèvent.

Cette section détaille les principales dispositions prévues aux Règles et au Règlement en ce qui concerne les valeurs et principes éthiques auxquels doivent adhérer les membres du personnel politique, d’une part, et leurs obligations déontologiques, d’autre part. Elle contient aussi la documentation produite par le Commissaire en lien avec les Règles et le Règlement.

Obligations déontologiques

Conflits d'intérêts

Les principes de base

Le membre du personnel politique ne doit pas se placer dans une situation de conflit entre son intérêt personnel et les devoirs de sa fonction.

De même, il ne peut agir de façon à favoriser ses intérêts personnels ou se prévaloir de sa fonction pour tenter d’influencer la décision d’une autre personne de façon à favoriser ses intérêts personnels. Il ne doit pas chercher non plus à favoriser les intérêts d’un membre de sa famille immédiate, à savoir son conjoint de même que ses enfants à charge ou ceux de son conjoint.

Par ailleurs, il n’existe pas de règles spécifiques interdisant à un membre du personnel d’exercer d’autres fonctions parallèlement à son travail au sein d’un cabinet ou auprès d’un député. Toutefois, il doit éviter tout conflit dans l’exercice de ses fonctions. Il doit en outre respecter des règles particulières en lien avec l’assiduité et l’utilisation des biens et services de l’État.

Participation à un marché avec le gouvernement

Les Règles et le Règlement prévoient qu’un membre du personnel ne peut, directement ou indirectement, participer à un marché avec le gouvernement, un ministère ou un organisme.

Ce principe trouve cependant quelques exceptions. Ainsi, un membre du personnel peut :

  • avoir un intérêt dans une entreprise qui participe à un tel marché, sous réserve que l’importance de l’intérêt ou les circonstances entourant la conclusion du marché ne permettent vraisemblablement pas la collusion ou l’influence indue
  • recevoir un prêt ou un avantage conformément à une loi, un règlement ou un programme
  • détenir des titres du gouvernement ou d’un autre organisme public, à des conditions identiques pour tous.

Identifier une situation de conflit d’intérêts

Les membres du personnel doivent être en mesure d’anticiper correctement l’influence que pourrait provoquer un intérêt personnel de manière à ne pas laisser celui-ci entrer en conflit avec les devoirs de leur fonction. Il est indispensable, en cette matière, d’identifier les situations de conflits d’intérêts réelles, mais également de porter attention aux situations d’apparence de conflits d’intérêts. Ainsi, il faut prendre le recul nécessaire pour prendre en considération la perception que pourrait avoir une personne raisonnablement bien informée dans les circonstances.

Les membres du personnel, dans l’analyse de leur situation, sont appelés à consulter le Commissaire, qui peut notamment fournir les conseils et avis nécessaires afin d’identifier toute situation de conflits d’intérêts qui pourrait se manifester et s’assurer que les situations soient régularisées. Chaque situation doit être évaluée en fonction des faits qui lui sont propres.

Référence :
Articles 5 à 9 des Règles déontologiques applicables aux membres du personnel des députés et des cabinets de l’Assemblée nationale (PDF, 128 Ko)
Articles 6 à 10 du Règlement concernant les règles déontologiques applicables aux membres du personnel d’un cabinet ministériel

 

Dons et avantages

Il peut arriver que les membres du personnel politique, dans l’exercice de leur fonction, reçoivent ou se voient offrir des dons ou des avantages. Ces dons et avantages, qui prennent notamment la forme de billets pour des événements caritatifs, peuvent généralement être acceptés par les membres du personnel.

Les Règles et le Règlement prévoient toutefois deux interdictions :

  • Le membre du personnel ne peut solliciter, susciter, accepter ou recevoir, pour lui-même ou pour une autre personne, quelque avantage que ce soit en échange d’une intervention ou d’une prise de position.
  • Le membre du personnel doit refuser tout don, avantage ou marque d’hospitalité qui pourrait être de nature à influencer son indépendance de jugement dans l’exercice de ses fonctions ou qui risque de compromettre son intégrité ou celle du cabinet ou du député qui l’emploie.

Ces interdictions doivent être appliquées en fonction des faits relatifs à chaque situation particulière et s’appliquent peu importe la provenance ou la valeur du don.

Dans son analyse, le membre du personnel doit prendre en considération les perceptions du public pour préserver la confiance des citoyens. Les valeurs prescrites par le Code constituent un guide utile à cet effet.

Le Commissaire a publié des lignes directrices (PDF, 302 Ko) pour accompagner la réflexion des membres du personnel à ce sujet. Ces derniers sont encouragés à nous contacter s’ils ont des doutes par rapport à certaines situations auxquelles ils sont confrontés.

Déclaration de dons

Les Règles et le Règlement prévoient que les dons, marques d'hospitalité et autres avantages de plus de 200 $ acceptés par les membres du personnel politique doivent faire l’objet d’une déclaration au Commissaire dans les 30 jours suivant leur réception.

La déclaration contient les renseignements suivants :

  • une description du don
  • le nom du donateur
  • la date et les circonstances de la réception.

Les membres du personnel politique peuvent remplir une déclaration de dons dans l'Espace déclarations.

Contrairement aux déclarations de dons produites par les députés, celles des membres du personnel politique ne font pas l’objet d’une publication sur notre site web.

Référence :
Articles 10 à 15 des Règles déontologiques applicables aux membres du personnel des députés et des cabinets de l’Assemblée nationale (PDF, 128 Ko)
Articles 11 à 16 du Règlement concernant les règles déontologiques applicables aux membres du personnel d’un cabinet ministériel

Déclaration d'intérêts

Les obligations concernant les déclarations d’intérêts s’appliquent uniquement aux directeurs de cabinet. Ces derniers doivent, chaque année, déposer auprès du commissaire une déclaration de leurs intérêts personnels et des intérêts personnels des membres de leur famille immédiate. Les membres de la famille immédiate du directeur de cabinet sont le conjoint et les enfants à charge. Ces renseignements personnels et financiers sont divulgués de manière confidentielle au Commissaire dans un objectif de prévention et de conseil.

Les directeurs de cabinet doivent déclarer les éléments suivants concernant leur propre situation et celle des membres de leur famille immédiate :

  • intérêts détenus dans toute entreprise ou organisme
  • activités professionnelles, commerciales ou industrielles exercées depuis l’entrée en fonction du directeur de cabinet
  • tout autre fait, situation ou événement qui pourraient être susceptible de placer le directeur de cabinet dans une situation de conflit d’intérêts ou être raisonnablement perçue comme telle.

Référence :
Articles 17 à 20 des Règles déontologiques applicables aux membres du personnel des députés et des cabinets de l’Assemblée nationale (PDF, 128 Ko)
Articles 18 à 21 du Règlement concernant les règles déontologiques applicables aux membres du personnel d’un cabinet ministériel

Après-mandat

Les Règles et le Règlement encadrent les activités professionnelles que peuvent entreprendre les membres du personnel politique une fois leur mandat terminé. Le Commissaire a produit des lignes directrices (PDF, 91 Ko) pour orienter les personnes visées par les règles d’après-mandat.

Les règles relatives à l'après-mandat visent seulement les membres du personnel d’un cabinet ministériel ainsi que certains membres du personnel des députés et de cabinets de l’Assemblée nationale, à savoir :

  • les membres du personnel du cabinet du leader parlementaire du gouvernement
  • les membres du personnel du cabinet du whip en chef du gouvernement
  • les membres du personnel engagés pour assister le parti gouvernemental à des fins de recherche et de soutien
  • les membres du personnel du député qui est président du caucus du parti gouvernemental.

Dans tous les cas, les membres du personnel de soutien ne sont pas soumis aux règles d’après-mandat.

Règles applicables en tout temps

Certaines règles doivent guider en tout temps les anciens membres du personnel politique à la suite de la fin de leur emploi.

Ainsi, un membre du personnel visé qui a cessé d’exercer ses fonctions à ce titre doit respecter les règles suivantes :

  • se comporter de manière à ne pas tirer d’avantages indus de ses fonctions antérieures
  • ne pas divulguer une information confidentielle ni donner des conseils fondés sur une information non disponible au public
  • ne pas agir au nom ou pour le compte d’autrui relativement à une procédure, une négociation ou une autre opération à l’égard de laquelle il a agi.

Règles applicables dans l'année qui suit la cessation des fonctions

Certaines règles prévues aux Règles et au Règlement visent spécifiquement la période d'un an qui suit la cessation des fonctions d’un membre du personnel.

Pendant cette période, les personnes visées ne peuvent :

  • accepter un poste ou une nomination au conseil d’administration ou comme membre d’un organisme, d’une entreprise ou d’une autre entité qui n’est pas une entité de l’État et avec lequel il a eu des rapports officiels, directs et importants au cours de l’année précédant la cessation de ses fonctions
  • intervenir pour le compte d’autrui auprès de tout ministère ou auprès d’une autre entité de l’État avec lequel il a eu des rapports officiels, directs et importants au cours de l’année précédant la cessation de ses fonctions.

Pour de plus amples renseignements quant à ce qui constitue une entité de l'État, consultez l'Annexe 1 des lignes directrices (PDF, 91 Ko) concernant les règles d'après-mandat. 

Les personnes visées par les règles d’après-mandat peuvent demander conseil au Commissaire en tout temps pour analyser des situations particulières.

Référence :
Articles 21 à 25 des Règles déontologiques applicables aux membres du personnel des députés et des cabinets de l’Assemblée nationale (PDF, 128 Ko)
Articles 22 à 26 du Règlement concernant les règles déontologiques applicables aux membres du personnel d’un cabinet ministériel

Utilisation des biens et services de l'État

Les biens et les services mis à la disposition d’un membre du personnel politique par l'État doivent être utilisés pour des activités liées à l’exercice de ses fonctions. Le membre du personnel a donc l’obligation de respecter l’utilisation prévue des biens et services de l’État et, le cas échéant, d'en permettre l'usage conformément à cette utilisation prévue.

Référence :
Article 16 des Règles déontologiques applicables aux membres du personnel des députés et des cabinets de l’Assemblée nationale (PDF, 128 Ko)
Article 17 du Règlement concernant les règles déontologiques applicables aux membres du personnel d’un cabinet ministériel

X