Members of the National Assembly

The MNAs are subject to the ethical principles and rules of conduct established by the Code of ethics and conduct of the Members of the National Assembly, as are the Cabinet Ministers, including anyone who is a member of the Conseil exécutif but not the National Assembly.

This section presents the main provisions in the Code concerning the values and ethical principles to which the Members must adhere and their ethical obligations. It also includes the texts published by the Ethics Commissioner related to the Code.

Values and Ethical Principles

Values prescribed by the Code

The Code proclaims the values of the National Assembly, which are:

  • commitment to improving the social and economic situation of Quebecers;
  • high regard for and the protection of the National Assembly and its democratic institutions; and
  • respect for other Members, public servants and citizens.

The conduct of Members must be characterized by benevolence, integrity, adaptability, wisdom, honesty, sincerity and justice. Consequently, Members:

  • show loyalty towards the people of Québec;
  • recognize that it is their duty to serve the citizens;
  • show rigour and diligence;
  • seek the truth and keep their word; and
  • preserve the memory of how the National Assembly and its democratic institutions work.

Adherence to the values and ethical principles

Members recognize that adherence to these values is essential to maintain the people’s confidence in both them and the National Assembly.

These values and ethical principles are not specific standards to be applied mechanically. They are drafted in general terms to guide the Members in carrying out their duties of office and in fulfilling their public interest mission.

More specifically, Members must refer to these values when determining the rules of conduct applicable to them. The Commissioner must also take these values into account when interpreting those rules. As part of the Commissioner’s advisory role, he or she often recommends that Members bear in mind the values and ethical principles expressed in the Code when carrying out their duties of office.

Reference: Sections 6 to 9 of the Code of ethics and conduct of the Members of the National Assembly (CQLR, chapter C-23.1)

X

Membres de l'Assemblée nationale

Les membres de l’Assemblée nationale sont assujettis aux principes éthiques et aux règles déontologiques contenus dans le Code d’éthique et de déontologie des membres de l’Assemblée nationale. C’est aussi le cas pour les membres du Conseil exécutif (les ministres), y compris une personne qui serait membre du Conseil exécutif sans être membre de l’Assemblée nationale.

Cette section détaille les principales dispositions prévues au Code en ce qui concerne les valeurs et principes éthiques auxquels doivent adhérer les députés, d’une part, et leurs obligations déontologiques, d’autre part. Elle contient aussi la documentation produite par le Commissaire en lien avec le Code.

Valeurs et principes éthiques

Les valeurs prescrites par le Code

Le Code proclame d’emblée les valeurs de l’Assemblée nationale, à savoir :

  • l’engagement envers l’amélioration des conditions sociales et économiques des Québécois
  • le respect et la protection de l’Assemblée nationale et de ses institutions démocratiques
  • le respect envers les membres de l’Assemblée nationale, les fonctionnaires de l’État et les citoyens.

Au plan individuel, la conduite du député doit être empreinte de bienveillance, de droiture, de convenance, de sagesse, d’honnêteté, de sincérité et de justice. Par conséquent, il :

  • fait preuve de loyauté envers le peuple du Québec
  • reconnaît qu’il est au service des citoyens
  • fait preuve de rigueur et d’assiduité
  • recherche la vérité et respecte la parole donnée
  • respecte un devoir de mémoire envers le fonctionnement de l’Assemblée nationale et de ses institutions démocratiques.

L’adhésion aux valeurs et principes éthiques

Les députés adhèrent à ces valeurs et reconnaissent que le respect de celles-ci constitue une condition essentielle afin de maintenir la confiance de la population envers eux et l’Assemblée nationale.

Les valeurs et principes éthiques guident les députés dans l’exercice de leur charge et dans la réalisation de leur mission d’intérêt public.

Plus particulièrement, les députés doivent se référer à ces valeurs dans l'appréciation des règles déontologiques qui leur sont applicables. Le Commissaire doit aussi en tenir compte dans l’interprétation de ces règles. Dans le cadre de son rôle-conseil auprès des députés, le Commissaire recommande d’ailleurs souvent aux députés de garder à l’esprit les valeurs et principes éthiques inscrits au Code dans l’exercice de leur charge.

Référence : Articles 6 à 9 du Code d'éthique et de déontologie des membres de l'Assemblée nationale (RLRQ, chapitre C-23.1)

X