About

The Code of ethics and conduct of the Members of the National Assembly (chapter C-23.1) was adopted unanimously in December 2010.
 
The Code first affirms the important role Members play and recognizes the expectations of the people of Québec with regard to their Members of the National Assembly (MNAs). It also states the key values of the National Assembly, to which the Members must adhere. It states the rules of ethics and conduct to be observed by Members and Cabinet Ministers (Conseil exécutif) and defines how these rules will be monitored and enforced. It establishes that the Ethics Commissioner is responsible for the administration of the Code.

In 2013, two sets of rules applicable to political staff came into force: the Rules of conduct applicable to the staff of Members and House officers of the National Assembly (Rules) and the Regulation respecting the rules of conduct applicable to the office staff of Ministers (Regulation). The implementation of such rules was planned in the bill enacting the Code. The provisions of these two texts are substantially similar. They reflect the values stated in the Code, as well as some of its rules of conduct.

The Ethics Commissioner is responsible for enforcing the legal provisions and regulations provided for in these texts.

Organization

Mission and roles

The Ethics Commissioner is an independent authority responsible for enforcing and applying the ethical principles and rules guiding the conduct of the MNAs and their staff. The Commissioner is appointed by the National Assembly to enforce and monitor the Code, Rules and Regulation.

To carry out its mission, the Ethics Commissioner fulfills three major roles:

  • Advising and accompanying members of the National Assembly and their staff by providing advisory opinions, publishing guidelines and organizing training activities
  • Conducting an inquiry to determine if a Member, a Minister or one of their staff member has violated provisions of the Code, when there are reasonable grounds to do so
  • Informing the general public of the rules and what they mean for MNAs or the work of their staff

Clientele

The Ethics Commissioner is responsible for administering the Code that concerns the MNAs, as well as the Rules and Regulation that concern the Members’ staff.

The term Members of the National Assembly includes members of the Conseil exécutif. Besides, anyone who is a member of the Conseil exécutif (a Cabinet Minister) but not of the National Assembly is deemed to be a Member under the Code, and is subject to the same rules.

As for political staff, the Regulation applies to ministerial staff, including constituency and regional staff. The Rules apply to Members’ staff and that of the House Officers of the National Assembly, such as the the leader, house leader or whip of a parliamentary group, for example. The Rules also apply to staff hired to support a political party or independent member through research or administrative help.

In all cases, the Ethics Commissioner ensures that the individuals subject to these rules adhere to the values set out in the Code and fulfill their obligations. It does so by providing advisory opinions and recommendations to its clientele upon request and by conducting inquiries, on the Commissioner’s initiative or at the request of a Member, regarding potential violations of the existing provisions.

History

Prior to the adoption of the Code

Before the Code was adopted, Members and Cabinet Ministers did not have a code of conduct to follow. Nonetheless, provisions—to which they were subject—still existed.

Some of these rules were introduced by the Legislature in 1982 through the Act respecting the National Assembly. These rules mainly dealt with conflicts of interest and incompatible positions and offices, and the Act established the office of jurisconsult to provide advisory opinions to Members regarding these rules.

In addition, Cabinet Ministers were subject to the Prime Minister’s Directives. While these directives could vary from one PM to the other, they generally focused on conflicts of interest, the confidentiality of information given to the Ministers and the post-term rules.

A new approach

Between 1988 and 2004, all Canadian legislatures successively engaged in reforms to codify the existing rules of conduct and institute independent authorities to administer the resulting codes.

In the early 2000s, seeing the change in Canada and in countries around the world, efforts were made to raise awareness among the Members of the National Assembly regarding parliamentary ethics and rules of conduct in Canada and abroad. On June 10, 2004, as part of a parliamentary reform initiative, a working committee on this subject made up of parliamentarians, ethics specialists, lawyers and public servants was created and began work to propose avenues of reflection to parliamentarians on a code of ethics.

Adoption of the Code

On May 14, 2009, Bill 48 concerning the Code of ethics and conduct of the Members of the National Assembly was submitted to the National Assembly. This bill was adopted unanimously by the Members of the National Assembly on December 3, 2010, and enacted on December 8, 2010. In January 2011, the first commissioner was sworn in, and the Code’s provisions gradually came into effect until January 1, 2012. From then on, MNAs have had a common framework to guide them in fulfilling the public interest mission entrusted to them.

Advisory opinions and inquiries

The Commissioner has responsibilities in terms of prevention and advice to his clientele, but also in terms of inquiries. This section provides answers to frequently asked questions about advisory opinions and inquiries.


Advice and advisory opinions

The Code requires that the Commissioner carry out his or her mission while focussing on information and prevention. The Code, Rules and Regulation entrust the Commissioner with the responsibility of providing written and reasoned opinions relating to the obligations included in these texts.

1. In what circumstances can the Commissioner provide written opinions?

Advisory opinions are issued at the request of a Member or staff member who has questions about their obligations in specific situations.

The opinions inform the person in question by examining the situation in light of the responsibilities the person assumes through his or her duties of office.

The opinions can include recommendations the Commissioner deems appropriate.

2. Who can request an advisory opinion from the Commissioner?

The Commissioner can deliver advisory opinions to his or her clientele, who are the Members and their staff.

The Commissioner provides opinions concerning the people who request it. It is not possible to request an opinion on a third party’s situation.

3. What topics do the opinions provided by the Commissioner cover?

The opinions cover the interpretation of the Code, Rules and Regulation requirements in terms of disclosure of private interests, rules of conduct relating to conflicts of interest, gifts and benefits, and post-term rules.

Each year in the activity report, the Commissioner indicates the number of opinions issued and the topics addressed.

4. Does the Commissioner disclose the opinions he or she delivers?

The Commissioner’s advisory opinions are strictly confidential and are addressed specifically to those who request them.

The person who requested the opinion can, however, make it public or authorize the Commissioner to make it public.

Inquiries

To ensure the proper application of the Code, Rules and Regulation, these texts entrust the Commissioner with the responsibility to conduct inquiries to verify if violations were committed.

1. In what circumstances can the Commissioner initiate an inquiry?

Concerning Members, the Code states that the Commissioner can initiate an inquiry:

  • at the written and reasoned request of a Member who has reasonable grounds to believe that another Member has breached the Code; or
  • on his or her own initiative.

Regarding staff members, the Rules and Regulation state that a written request for an inquiry can be addressed to the Commissioner by the staff member’s party leader or by the MNA or Cabinet Minister from whom the staff members reports. The Commissioner can also conduct an inquiry regarding a staff member on his or her own initiative.

In all cases, when the Commissioner initiates an inquiry, he or she informs the person involved either by forwarding the inquiry request or by giving reasonable written notice.

2. Are the Commissioner’s inquiries made public?

The Code, Rules and Regulation require that the Commissioner conduct inquiries in private. The Commissioner cannot publicly comment on a verification or inquiry. However, the Commissioner can confirm that a request was received or that a verification or inquiry was initiated or completed.

Following a verification, the Commissioner can also disclose why he or she decided not to conduct an inquiry.

Inquiry reports issued by the Commissioner under the Code are tabled in the National Assembly by the President and are thus of public nature. See the Publications section to view the inquiry reports issued by the Commissioner.

3. Is there a complaints process available to the public to report a potential violation?

The Code, Rules and Regulation do not provide for the possibility for citizens to request an inquiry.

However, citizens who witness a situation that, in their opinion, consists of a violation of the Code can bring the information to the Commissioner’s attention.

The Commissioner can decide whether to intervene or not after assessing the facts or events brought to his or her attention.

4. Can violations of the Code, Rules and Regulation result in sanctions?

Following an inquiry conducted under the Code, the Commissioner can recommend the imposition of a sanction to the National Assembly if he or she has concluded that an MNA has violated the Code. 

The sanctions provided for in the Code are the following:

  • a reprimand
  • a penalty, determined by the Commissioner
  • the return to the donor, delivery to the State or reimbursement of the value of the gift, hospitality or benefit received
  • the reimbursement of any unlawful profit
  • the reimbursement of the indemnities, allowances or other sums received as a Member or a Cabinet Minister while the violation of this Code continued
  • a suspension of the Member’s right to sit in the National Assembly, together with a suspension of any indemnity or allowance, until the Member complies with a condition imposed by the Ethics Commissioner
  • the loss of his or her seat as a Member
  • the loss of his or her position as a Cabinet Minister, if applicable

The National Assembly decides whether to impose a sanction recommended by the Commissioner. A report including a sanction recommendation must be put to vote in the National Assembly. The sanction is applied if the report is supported by two thirds of the MNAs. The report is put to a vote without debate and cannot be amended.

The Rules and Regulation do not include the possibility of recommending sanctions.

X

À propos

Le Code d'éthique et de déontologie des membres de l'Assemblée nationale a été adopté à l'unanimité en décembre 2010. Le Code proclame d'abord l'importance du rôle du député et reconnaît les attentes de la population à son égard. Il énonce également les principales valeurs de l’Assemblée nationale, auxquelles les députés doivent adhérer. Ensuite, on y retrouve les règles déontologiques applicables aux députés et aux membres du Conseil exécutif (les ministres). Le Code détermine enfin les mécanismes d’application et de contrôle de ces règles et en confie la responsabilité au Commissaire à l’éthique et à la déontologie.

En 2013, deux ensembles de règles s’appliquant aux membres du personnel politique entrent en vigueur : les Règles déontologiques applicables aux membres du personnel des députés et des cabinets de l’Assemblée nationale (Règles) et le Règlement concernant les règles déontologiques applicables aux membres du personnel d’un cabinet ministériel (Règlement). La mise en place de telles règles était prévue dans le projet de loi édictant le Code. Les dispositions de ces deux textes sont fortement similaires. Ils reprennent les valeurs édictées par le Code de même que certaines des règles déontologiques qu’on y retrouve.

Le Commissaire à l’éthique et à la déontologie est l’institution responsable de veiller à l’application des dispositions législatives et réglementaires prévues à ces textes.

L'organisation

Mission et fonctions

Le Commissaire à l’éthique et à la déontologie est une institution indépendante responsable de veiller au respect des principes éthiques et à l’application des règles éthiques qui doivent guider la conduite des membres de l’Assemblée nationale et de leur personnel. Le titulaire de la fonction de commissaire est une personne désignée par l'Assemblée nationale pour voir à l'application et au contrôle du Code, des Règles et du Règlement.

Pour mener à bien sa mission, le Commissaire à l’éthique et à la déontologie remplit trois grandes fonctions :

  • conseiller et accompagner les membres de l’Assemblée nationale et leur personnel, notamment en donnant des avis, en produisant des lignes directrices et en organisant des activités de formation
  • faire enquête lorsque des motifs raisonnables permettent de croire que des manquements ont pu être commis
  • informer le public sur les règles prévues et leur signification en lien avec la charge de membre de l’Assemblée nationale ou le travail des membres de leur personnel.

En avril 2018, le Commissaire publiait ses orientations institutionnelles pour la période 2018-2022. Pour consulter ces orientations, cliquez ici (PDF, 2 Mo).

Clientèle

Le Commissaire à l’éthique et à la déontologie est responsable de l’application du Code, qui vise les membres de l’Assemblée nationale, de même que des Règles et du Règlement, qui visent les membres de leur personnel.

En ce qui concerne les membres de l’Assemblée nationale, cette catégorie inclut les membres du Conseil exécutif. À cet effet, une personne qui serait membre du Conseil exécutif sans être membre de l’Assemblée nationale est réputée être député en vertu du Code, et donc soumise aux mêmes règles.

Pour le personnel politique, le Règlement s’applique aux cabinets ministériels, incluant le personnel de circonscription et le personnel régional. Les Règles concernent quant à elles le personnel des députés et celui des cabinets de l’Assemblée nationale, tels que le cabinet du chef, du leader ou du whip d’un groupe parlementaire, par exemple. Sont également visés par les Règles les membres du personnel engagés pour assister un parti politique ou un député indépendant à des fins de recherches et de soutien.

Dans tous les cas, le Commissaire à l’éthique et à la déontologie voit à ce que les personnes visées respectent les valeurs édictées par le Code et remplissent leurs obligations déontologiques. Il le fait en fournissant, sur demande, des avis et des recommandations à sa clientèle et en faisant enquête, à la demande d’un député ou à son initiative, sur de potentiels manquements aux dispositions en place.

Historique

Avant le Code

Avant l’adoption du Code, les députés et les membres du Conseil exécutif n’avaient pas de code de déontologie. Il existait tout de même certaines règles qui leur étaient applicables.  

Certaines de ces règles ont été introduites par le législateur en 1982 dans la Loi sur l’Assemblée nationale. Elles concernaient essentiellement les conflits d’intérêts et les incompatibilités de fonctions et instituaient la fonction de jurisconsulte pour fournir des avis aux députés sur ces règles.

De plus, les membres du Conseil exécutif étaient assujettis aux Directives du premier ministre qui variaient d’un premier ministre à l’autre, mais qui contenaient généralement des règles particulières sur les conflits d’intérêts, la confidentialité des renseignements portés à l’attention des ministres et les règles d’après-mandat.

Le développement d’une nouvelle approche

Entre 1988 et 2004, l’ensemble des assemblées législatives canadiennes s’engagent successivement dans des réformes visant à codifier les règles déontologiques en place et à instituer des autorités indépendantes pour les administrer.

Au début des années 2000, observant ce courant au pays et ailleurs dans le monde, des travaux sont entrepris afin de sensibiliser les membres de l’Assemblée nationale sur la déontologie parlementaire au Canada et à l'étranger. Le 10 juin 2004, dans le cadre d’un projet de réforme parlementaire, un comité de travail sur l’éthique et la déontologie parlementaire composé de parlementaires, de spécialistes en éthique, de juristes et de fonctionnaires est créé et entame des travaux afin de soumettre aux parlementaires des pistes de réflexion en vue d’élaborer un code d’éthique.

Adoption du Code

Le 14 mai 2009, le projet de loi no 48 concernant un Code d’éthique et de déontologie des membres de l’Assemblée nationale est présenté à l’Assemblée nationale.

Ce projet de loi sera adopté à l’unanimité par les membres de l’Assemblée nationale le 3 décembre 2010, puis sanctionné le 8 décembre 2010. Le premier commissaire est assermenté en janvier 2011 et les dispositions du Code entrent graduellement en vigueur jusqu’au 1er janvier 2012. À partir de ce moment, les membres de l’Assemblée nationale bénéficient d’un cadre commun qui a pour but de les guider dans la réalisation de la mission d’intérêt public qui leur est confiée.

Avis et enquêtes

Le Commissaire a des responsabilités en matière de prévention et de conseil auprès de ses clientèles, mais aussi en matière d'enquête. Cette section présente les réponses aux questions fréquemment posées en ce qui concerne les avis et les enquêtes.

Conseils et avis

Le Code prévoit que le Commissaire mène sa mission dans un souci d’information et de prévention. Le Code, les Règles et le Règlement confient d’ailleurs la responsabilité au Commissaire de donner des avis écrits et motivés concernant les obligations prévues à ces textes.

1. Dans quelles circonstances le Commissaire produit-il des avis écrits?

Les avis écrits sont produits sur demande d’un député ou d’un membre du personnel qui s’interroge quant à ses obligations au regard de situations spécifiques. 

Ils permettent de renseigner la personne concernée en examinant sa situation par rapport aux responsabilités qu’elle assume dans l’exercice de sa charge.

Les avis écrits peuvent contenir les recommandations que le Commissaire juge indiquées.

2. Qui peut demander un avis au Commissaire?

Le Commissaire est apte à émettre des avis aux personnes constituant sa clientèle, à savoir les députés et les membres de leur personnel.

Le Commissaire fournit des avis au sujet des personnes qui en font la demande. Il n’est pas possible de demander un avis sur la situation d’un tiers.

3. Quels sont les sujets qui peuvent faire l'objet d'un avis du Commissaire?

Les avis portent notamment sur l’interprétation des exigences du Code, des Règles et du Règlement en matière de déclaration des intérêts personnels, de règles déontologiques relatives aux conflits d’intérêts, de dons et avantages ainsi que de règles d’après-mandat.

Chaque année, le Commissaire indique dans son rapport d’activité le nombre d’avis produits et les sujets abordés.

4. Le Commissaire rend-il publics les avis qu’il émet?

Les avis du Commissaire sont strictement confidentiels et s’adressent spécifiquement aux personnes visées par l'avis.

Ces personnes peuvent toutefois, si elles le souhaitent, rendre leur avis public ou autoriser le Commissaire à le rendre public.

Enquêtes

Pour assurer l’application des dispositions du Code, des Règles et du Règlement, ces textes confient au Commissaire la responsabilité de mener des enquêtes pour vérifier si des manquements ont pu être commis.

1. Dans quelles circonstances le Commissaire peut-il déclencher une enquête?

En ce qui concerne les députés, le Code prévoit que le Commissaire peut déclencher une enquête :

  • sur demande écrite et motivée d’un député qui a des motifs raisonnables de croire qu’un autre député a commis un manquement aux règles déontologiques
  • à sa propre initiative.

Pour ce qui est des membres du personnel, les Règles et le Règlement prévoient qu'une demande écrite d’enquêter peut être adressée au Commissaire par le chef de parti ou l’élu dont ils relèvent. Le Commissaire peut aussi enquêter à sa propre initiative concernant un membre du personnel.

Dans tous les cas, lorsque le Commissaire déclenche une enquête, il en informe la personne visée soit en transmettant la demande d’enquête, ou en donnant, par écrit, un préavis raisonnable.

2. Les enquêtes du Commissaire sont-elles publiques?

Le Code, les Règles et le Règlement prévoient que le Commissaire enquête à huis clos. Le Commissaire ne peut commenter publiquement une vérification ou une enquête. Il peut toutefois confirmer qu’une demande a été reçue à cet effet ou encore qu’une vérification ou une enquête a commencé ou a pris fin.

Il peut aussi indiquer pourquoi, après vérification, il a décidé de ne pas tenir d’enquête.

Les rapports d’enquête produits par le Commissaire en application du Code sont déposés à l’Assemblée nationale par son président et ils acquièrent, à ce moment, un caractère public. Consultez la section Publications pour lire les rapports d’enquête produits par le Commissaire.

3. Existe-t-il un mécanisme de plainte à la disposition du public pour signaler un potentiel manquement?

Le Code, les Règles et le Règlement ne prévoient pas la possibilité pour un citoyen de présenter une demande d’enquête.

Cependant, un citoyen témoin d’une situation qui, à son avis, a entraîné un manquement au Code, peut en faire part au Commissaire.

Le Commissaire peut décider d’intervenir ou non après avoir évalué les faits ou les événements portés à son attention.

4. Est-ce que des manquements au Code, aux Règles et au Règlement peuvent entraîner des sanctions?

À la suite d’une enquête menée en application du Code, le Commissaire peut recommander l’imposition d’une sanction par l’Assemblée nationale, s'il conclut qu’un député a commis un manquement. 

Les sanctions prévues au Code sont les suivantes :

  • la réprimande
  • une pénalité, dont le Commissaire indique le montant
  • la remise au donateur ou à l’État ou le remboursement du don, de la marque d’hospitalité ou de l’avantage reçu
  • le remboursement de profits illicites
  • le remboursement des indemnités, allocations ou autres sommes reçues comme député ou comme membre du Conseil exécutif pour la période qu’a duré le manquement au Code
  • la suspension du droit du député de siéger à l’Assemblée nationale, accompagnée d’une suspension de toute indemnité et de toute allocation, jusqu’à ce qu’il se conforme à une condition imposée par le Commissaire
  • la perte du siège de député
  • la perte du statut de membre du Conseil exécutif, le cas échéant.

C’est l’Assemblée nationale qui a la responsabilité de déterminer si une sanction recommandée par le Commissaire doit être appliquée. Un rapport contenant une recommandation de sanction doit effectivement être mis aux voix à l’Assemblée nationale. La sanction est appliquée si le rapport est adopté aux deux tiers des membres de l’Assemblée nationale. Le rapport est mis aux voix sans débat et il ne peut être amendé.

Les Règles et le Règlement ne prévoient pour leur part aucune possibilité de recommander des sanctions.

X