Political Staff

Political staff members are subject to the Rules of conduct applicable to the staff of Members and House Officers of the National Assembly (Rules) and the Regulation respecting the rules of conduct applicable to the office staff of Ministers (Regulation).

The Rules apply to office staff of MNAs and House Officers of the National Assembly, including staff hired to assist a political party or an independent member for research and support purposes.  As for Regulation, they set out rules aimed at the executive secretary and other office staff appointed by a minister, including electoral division staff and regional staff.

This section presents the main provisions of both the Rules and the Regulation concerning the values and ethical principles to which the staff members must adhere and their ethical obligations. It also includes the texts published by the Ethics Commissioner related to these texts.

Values and Ethical Principles

The Rules and the Regulation proclaim the values of the National Assembly, which are:

  • commitment to improving the social and economic situation of Quebecers
  • high regard for and the protection of the National Assembly and its democratic institutions
  • respect for MNAs, public servants and citizens

The conduct of staff members must be characterized by benevolence, integrity, adaptability, wisdom, honesty, sincerity and justice. Consequently, they must:

  • show loyalty towards the people of Québec;
  • recognize that it is their duty to serve the citizens;
  • show rigour and diligence;
  • seek the truth and keep their word; and
  • preserve the memory of how the National Assembly and its democratic institutions work.

These values and ethical principles are not specific standards to be applied mechanically. They are drafted in general terms to guide the staff members in carrying out their duties of office and in appreciating the rules of conduct applicable to them. The Commissioner must also take these values into account when interpreting those rules.

Reference:
Sections 3 and 4 of the Rules of conduct applicable to the staff of Members and House officers of the National Assembly (PDF, 128 Ko) (French only)
Sections 4 and 5 of the Regulation respecting the rules of conduct applicable to the office staff of Ministers
Sections 6 to 9 of the Code of ethics and conduct of the Members of the National Assembly (CQLR, chapter C-23.1)

X

Personnel politique

Les membres du personnel politique doivent respecter les obligations déontologiques contenues dans les Règles déontologiques applicables aux membres du personnel des députés et des cabinets de l’Assemblée nationale et le Règlement concernant les règles déontologiques applicables aux membres du personnel d’un cabinet ministériel.

Les Règles s’appliquent aux membres du personnel d’un député ou d’un cabinet de l’Assemblée nationale, incluant les membres du personnel engagés pour assister un parti politique ou un député indépendant à des fins de recherche et de soutien. Quant au Règlement, il vise le directeur et les autres membres du personnel d’un cabinet incluant le personnel de circonscription et le personnel régional, le cas échéant, nommés par le ministre dont ils relèvent.

Cette section détaille les principales dispositions prévues aux Règles et au Règlement en ce qui concerne les valeurs et principes éthiques auxquels doivent adhérer les membres du personnel politique, d’une part, et leurs obligations déontologiques, d’autre part. Elle contient aussi la documentation produite par le Commissaire en lien avec les Règles et le Règlement.

Valeurs et principes éthiques

Les Règles et le Règlement réfèrent au Code en ce qui concerne les valeurs et les principes éthiques auxquels les membres du personnel politique doivent adhérer. Les valeurs de l'Assemblée nationale sont les suivantes :

  • l’engagement envers l’amélioration des conditions sociales et économiques des Québécois
  • le respect et la protection de l’Assemblée nationale et de ses institutions démocratiques
  • le respect envers les membres de l’Assemblée nationale, les fonctionnaires de l’État et les citoyens.

Tout comme les députés, la conduite d’un membre du personnel politique doit être empreinte de bienveillance, de droiture, de convenance, de sagesse, d’honnêteté, de sincérité et de justice. Par conséquent, il :

  • fait preuve de loyauté envers le peuple du Québec
  • reconnaît qu’il est au service des citoyens
  • fait preuve de rigueur et d’assiduité
  • recherche la vérité et respecte la parole donnée
  • respecte un devoir de mémoire envers le fonctionnement de l’Assemblée nationale et de ses institutions démocratiques.

Les valeurs et principes éthiques guident les membres du personnel politique dans l’exercice de leur fonction et dans l’appréciation des règles déontologiques qui leur sont applicables. Le Commissaire doit aussi tenir compte de ces valeurs et principes dans l’interprétation de ces règles.

Référence :
Articles 3 et 4 des Règles déontologiques applicables aux membres du personnel des députés et des cabinets de l’Assemblée nationale (PDF, 128 Ko)
Articles 4 et 5 du Règlement concernant les règles déontologiques applicables aux membres du personnel d’un cabinet ministériel

Articles 6 à 9 du Code d'éthique et de déontologie des membres de l'Assemblée nationale (RLRQ, chapitre C-23.1)

X